Current

Principal Investigator

Trudy G. Oliver, PhD

Associate Professor of Oncological Sciences
trudy.oliver@hci.utah.edu

Dr. Oliver's research is devoted to understanding mechanisms of cancer biology with a focus on lung cancer. As a graduate student at Duke, she studied the developmental origins of the childhood brain tumor, medulloblastoma, where she identified mechanisms of tumor progression in mouse models of the disease. As a postdoctoral fellow at MIT, she studied mechanisms of chemotherapy resistance in lung cancer. As an independent investigator, she has developed novel mouse models of squamous and small cell lung cancer. Her experimental approaches include an integration of mouse genetics, molecular and cellular biology, biochemistry, genomics, preclinical therapeutics, and in vivo imaging. This work will contribute to our understanding of lung cancer subtypes with the goal of identifying novel targets to improve patient outcome.

Lab Manager

Rachelle Olsen, PhD

Rachelle Olsen, PhD

Scientist II
rachelle.olsen@hci.utah.edu

Rachelle enjoys crocheting, knitting, and quilting. She is currently working on the role of ASCL1 and NEUROD1 in small-cell lung cancer.

Members

Gabriela Fort

Gabriela Fort

Graduate Student
Gabriela.Fort@hci.utah.edu

Gabby received her bachelor’s degree in molecular biology and biochemistry from Middlebury College in 2019. She is now a graduate student in Dr. Oliver's lab studying metabolic differences between small-cell lung cancer subtypes. When not at the lab, Gabby loves taking advantage of the beautiful nature that Utah has to offer. She enjoys hiking, downhill skiing, and running around Salt Lake City.

Abbie Ireland

Abbie Ireland

Graduate Student
Abbie.Ireland@hci.utah.edu

Alexi Micinski

Alexi Micinski

Laboratory Specialist
Alexi.Micinski@hci.utah.edu

Alexi grew up in Meridian, Idaho and came to Utah to pursue her passion for slopestyle skiing by competing on the US Freeskiing team. She then completed a B.S. in biology at Westminster College, which led her to research at the University of Utah and eventually Huntsman Cancer Institute. Her hobbies include outdoor activities, playing the guitar, and doing cancer research with our amazing team at HCI.

Tony Reyes

Tony Reyes

Graduate Student
Tony.Reyes@hci.utah.edu

Danny Soltero

Danny Soltero

Lab Technician
Danny.Soltero@hci.utah.edu

Danny is a laboratory technician in Dr. Oliver’s lab for Huntsman Cancer Institute. With the help of his colleagues, he maintains the mouse colony for the lab and aides in experiments. He is from El Paso, Texas, a dry desert similar to Utah. He enjoys cooking, swimming, and generally trying to better himself physically and mentally. Danny is training to run a 6K, learning to speak German, and studying to be a surgical technician.

Kyle Spainhower

Kyle Spainhower

Lab Technician
Kyle.Spainhower@hci.utah.edu

Kyle likes to spend time outdoors. He enjoys biking, hiking, camping, and snowboarding. He also plays bass and guitar and often jams with friends on weekends. Kyle is interested in identifying therapeutic vulnerabilities of small-cell lung cancer.

Clara Tandar

Clara Tandar

High School Student
ctandar@gmail.com

Clara is a senior at West High School. She is interested in translational medicine and development of therapies for the treatment of small-cell lung cancer. In her free time, she likes to read comics and bake.

Trudy Oliver

Trudy G. Oliver, BSc (Hons), PhD
Principal Investigator
Associate Professor
HCI Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
trudy.oliver@hci.utah.edu

Cancer Center Bio