Skip to main content

Biorepository and Molecular Pathology Shared Resource


Molecular Diagnostics

Research Histology

Research Immunohistochemistry



Informational Video

The Biorepository and Molecular Pathology (BMP) Shared Resource supports cancer investigators by seamlessly integrating biorepository, histology, and state-of-the-art molecular diagnostic services in support of clinical, translational, and basic science research at Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) and the University of Utah. The BMP consists of three distinct sections: Biorepository, Molecular Diagnostics, and Research Histology.

Investigator Resource Showcase: Biorepository

Investigator Resource Showcase: Molecular Diagnostics

Find a Pathologist

The BMP Shared Resource requires that researchers collaborate with a pathologist to confirm the identity and diagnosis of biospecimens. In addition, pathologists can assist with identifying the best specimen for molecular analysis.

Please visit the ARUP Anatomic Pathology Experts page to find a pathologist who specializes in your research area.


If use of this resource results in a publication, please acknowledge Huntsman Cancer Institute and our Cancer Center Support Grant by using the following text: "Research reported in this publication utilized the Biorepository and Molecular Pathology Shared Resource at Huntsman Cancer Institute at the University of Utah and was supported by the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health under Award Number P30CA042014. The content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the NIH."

Contact Us

BMP Shared Resource Director
Chris Fillmore, PhD

Biorepository Director
Chris Fillmore, PhD

Molecular Diagnostics Director
Nieca Bronson, MS, MLS, ASCP(CM)

Research Histology Director
Meisha Loveless, HT (ASCP) CM


HCI Senior Director Oversight
Alana Welm, PhD

Medical Director
Eric Snyder, MD, PhD

Faculty Advisory Committee Members
Dan Albertson, MD
Nicola Camp, PhD
Howard Colman, MD, PhD
Randy Jensen, MD, PhD
Manish Kohli, MD
Charles Murtaugh, PhD
Douglas Sborov, MD, MS