Learn More

What is the Immunology, Inflammation, & Infectious Disease (3i) Initiative

The Immunology, Inflammation, and Infectious Disease (3i) Initiative at University of Utah Health was formally established in 2017 on the premise that a better understanding of the three "I"s will fundamentally change the way we think about disease.

The vision of the 3i Initiative at the University of Utah is to become a center of scientific excellence known internationally for its top-tier research performed at the nexus of the immunology, inflammation and infectious disease fields to make fundamental discoveries that ultimately improve patient care.  

It is built on a strong foundation of almost 180 faculty who do research in related fields at four colleges or schools and 30 departments across campus. A major goal is to integrate basic, translational, and clinical research in these areas by strengthening the 3i community and fostering collaborations.

Learn more about the 3i Initiative >>


U of U Health abre Clínica Integral para efectos a largo plazo de COVID-19
Jun 03, 2021

U of U Health abre Clínica Integral para efectos a largo plazo de COVID-19

research news, covid-19, iii, infectious diseases, pulmonary, cardiology

En un esfuerzo por proporcionar una atención más completa y coordinada a los pacientes con COVID-19 que siguen sufriendo los efectos persistentes de la enfermedad, University of Utah Health ha abierto una clínica de atención de COVID-19. ... Read More

Population Health Sciences,Pediatrics,Family and Preventive Medicine,Internal Medicine,Neurology
Read More

Contact Us

Daniel Leung, MD
Co-Director, 3i Initiative
Associate Professor, Internal Medicine

Ryan O'Connell, PhD
Co-Director, 3i Initiative
Professor, Pathology

Nicole Frank, PhD
Associate Director, 3i Initiative
Vice President of Health Sciences Research Unit
Phone: 801-213-0644

Upcoming Events

View Calendar