Skip to main content

American Academy of Periodontology Installs New President and Officers in Phoenix

Periodontist David Okano, DDS, MS, to Preside for 2022-2023 Year

David Okano, DDS, MS

The American Academy of Periodontology installed David Okano, DDS, MS, as its president during its 108th Annual Meeting in Phoenix, held Oct. 27-30. Other newly appointed officers include President-Elect Stephen Meraw, DDS, MS; Vice President Mia Geisinger, DDS; and Secretary/Treasurer Ana Becil Giglio, DDS.

In 2015, after 30 years of private practice in Rock Springs, Wyoming, Dr. Okano accepted a full-time academic appointment at the University of Utah School of Dentistry, where he is currently Associate Professor and Section Head of Clinical Periodonics. He has served on numerous AAP committees since 2001, and in 2019 became chair of the Task Force to Evaluate Predoctoral Periodontal Education. Dr. Okano has served as a member of the AAP Board of Trustees since 2012, serving as secretary/treasurer during the 2019-2020 term. Dr. Okano received his Doctor of Dental Surgery degree and Master of Science degree from the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Dentistry.