Our Team

Leadership

Jennifer Doherty, MS, PhD

Jennifer Doherty, MS, PhD

Title:  Executive Director and PI of SEER Contract

Dr. Doherty is an Associate Professor in the Department of Population Health Sciences at the University of Utah and a Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) Endowed Chair. She is also an adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Epidemiology at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, and an Affiliate Investigator in the Program in Epidemiology at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. She is a molecular and genetic epidemiologist with a focus on ovarian and lung cancers. She has been studying ovarian cancer for over fifteen years, and leads studies identifying epidemiologic risk factors and survival for ovarian cancer gene expression subtypes (R01CA168758, MPI, JA Doherty and MA Rossing), and evaluating whether the poorer survival from ovarian cancer that African American women experience could be due to having a higher prevalence of aggressive gene expression subtypes, poorer survival from less aggressive subtypes, or both (R01 CA200854, MPI, JA Doherty and JM Schildkraut). Her work in lung cancer, also funded by an R01 and other grants, has focused on telomere length and lung cancer risk and survival by histotype. As Executive Director of Utah Cancer Registry, Dr. Doherty provides overall leadership, direction, and vision for all registry and research support activities.

Specialties: Molecular and Genetic Cancer Patho-epidemiology, Cancer Survivorship, Ovarian, and Lung Cancers.

Email:  jen.doherty@hci.utah.edu

Wallace L. Akerley, MD

Wallace Akerley, MD is a medical oncologist with greater than 30 years experience as a principal investigator on numerous clinical research trials who actively cares for patients with lung cancer. He is the chairman of the Protocol Review and Monitoring Committee at Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI), Director of the Lung Cancer Disease Center of Exce... Read More

Research Interests: Clinical Trials, Lung Cancer, Non-Smoking Lung Cancer, Radon

Specialties: Lung Cancer, Medical Oncology, Metastatic Disease, Oncology, Thoracic Oncology

Fellowship: Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Ctr.

Fellowship: University of Southern California

Residency: University of Southern California

Medical School: Brown University

Email: wallace.akerley@hci.utah.edu

Carol Sweeney, PhD

Carol Sweeney, PhD, is an associate professor in the Division of Epidemiology, Department of Medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine, an investigator at Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI), and a member of the HCI Cancer Control and Population Sciences Program. She conducts research on cancer epidemiology, with specific interests in the ... Read More

Email: carol.sweeney@hsc.utah.edu

Mia Hashibe, PhD

Dr. Hashibe is a Professor in the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine at the University of Utah, Director of Research and Practice for the Division of Public Health, a Huntsman Cancer Institute (HCI) investigator and Director of Research Facilitation and Integration for the Utah Cancer Registry. She is a member of the Cancer Control and Po... Read More

Research Interests: Cancer Epidemiology, Cancer Survivorship, Epidemiology, Molecular, Genetic Susceptibility, Global Epidemiology, Head and Neck Cancers

Specialties: Cancer Epidemiology, Cancer Survivorship, Head and Neck Cancers

Email: mia.hashibe@utah.edu

Operations

Carrie Bateman, BS

Carrie Bateman, BS

Title:  Registry Manager

Email:  Carrie.Bateman@hsc.utah.edu

Shantell Hicken

Shantell Hicken

Title:  Administrative Officer

Email:  Shantell.Hicken@utah.edu

Coding, Editing, & Quality Assurance

Kacey Wigren, AAS, RHIT, CTR

Kacey Wigren, AAS, RHIT, CTR

Title:  Operations Supervisor

Email:  Kacey.Wigren@hsc.utah.edu

Miriam Pereira

Miriam Pereira

Title:  Tumor Registrar

Email:  Miriam.Pereira@hsc.utah.edu

Mandy Giles, BS, CTR

Mandy Giles, BS, CTR

Title:  Certified Tumor Registrar

Email:  Mandy.Giles@hsc.utah.edu

SuAnn McFadden, AS, CTR

SuAnn McFadden, AS, CTR

Title:  Certified Cancer Registrar, QIS

Email:  SuAnn.McFadden@hsc.utah.edu

Bethany Spencer, BS, CTR

Bethany Spencer, BS, CTR

Title:  Certified Cancer Registrar, QIS

Email:  bs22@utah.edu

Sandra Reay, BS, CTR

Sandra Reay, BS, CTR

Title:  Certified Cancer Registrar, QIS

Email:  Sandra.Reay@hsc.utah.edu

Debbi Romney, AA, CTR

Debbi Romney, AA, CTR

Title:  Certified Cancer Registrar, QIS

Email:  Debbi.Romney@hsc.utah.edu

Heather Cheney, BS, CTR

Heather Cheney, BS, CTR

Title:  Certified Cancer Registrar, QIS

Email:  Heather.Cheney@hsc.utah.edu

Jacqueline Clarken, BS, CTR

Jacqueline Clarken, BS, CTR

Title:  Certified Cancer Registrar, QIS

Email:  Jacque.Clarken@hsc.utah.edu

Loretta Huston, BS, CTR

Loretta Huston, BS, CTR

Title:  Certified Cancer Registrar, QIS

Email:  Loretta.Huston@hsc.utah.edu

Lisa Orr, AS, CTR

Lisa Orr, AS, CTR

Title:  Certified Cancer Registrar, QIS

Email:  Lisa.Orr@utah.edu

Cassie Lyon, BS

Cassie Lyon, BS

Title:  Tumor Registrar

Email:  cassie.lyon@hsc.utah.edu

Informatics

Valerie Yoder, BS

Valerie Yoder, BS

Title:  Database Analyst

Email:  Valerie.Yoder@hsc.utah.edu

Cameron Howlett, CHES

Cameron Howlett, CHES

Title:  Database Report Writer

Email:  cameron.howlett@hsc.utah.edu

Dissemination, Evaluation, & Research

Marjorie Carter, MSPH

Marjorie Carter, MSPH

Title:  Research Manager

Email:  Marjorie.Carter@hsc.utah.edu

Kim Herget, MStat

Kim Herget, MStat

Title:  Biostatistician

Email:  Kim.Herget@hsc.utah.edu

Sandie Edwards, MA

Sandie Edwards, MA

Title:  Research Associate

Email:  sandie.edwards@hsc.utah.edu

Julia Schaefer, MSw

Julia Schaefer, MSw

Title:  Research Analyst

Email:  julia.schaefer@utah.edu

Kate Hak, BS

Kate Hak, BS

Title:  Study Coordinator

Email:  kate.hak@hsc.utah.edu

Lori Burke

Lori Burke

Title:  Research Assistant

Email:  lori.burke@fcs.utah.edu

Kay McCandless, MEd, CTR

Kay McCandless, MEd, CTR

Title:  Field Abstractor

Email:  Kay.McCandless@hsc.utah.edu

Allie Palmer

Allie Palmer

Title:  Staff Research Assistant

Email:  allie.palmer@hci.utah.edu

Morgan M. Millar, PhD

Research Interests: Health Disparities, Improving Survey Response, Longitudinal Retention, Questionnaire Design, Research Recruitment Methods, Social Disparities in Cancer, Survey Methodology

Email: morgan.millar@hsc.utah.edu

Contact Us

Utah Cancer Registry

250 East 200 South, Suite 1375
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Phone: 801-581-8407
Fax: 801-581-4560
Email: ucr.info@hsc.utah.edu