Access to Data

All research projects require Institutional Review Board (IRB) and Utah Resource for Genetic and Epidemiologic Research (RGE) approval.

The RGE administers access to the UPDB and specific sets of records through a review process for each project. Researchers can complete the RGE application and request data for approved projects in the University of Utah ERICA system

Contacts

For assistance developing your project or completing your application in ERICA:
Jennifer West, UPDB Navigator
801-581-4567
Jennifer.West@hci.utah.edu.

For questions about RGE Policies and Procedures or the status of an RGE application:
Jahn Barlow, RGE Director
801-581-6351
jahn.barlow@utah.edu.

For assistance submitting a data request for an approved project:
Jennifer West
801-581-4567
Jennifer.West@hci.utah.edu

or Ankita Date
801-213-5619
ankita.date@hci.utah.edu

For assistance with data stored on HCI virtual machines:
Stevie Kinnear
Stevie.kinnear@hci.utah.edu.

Contact Us

Utah Population Database Director
Karen Curtin, PhD, MStat
karen.curtin@hsc.utah.edu
801-585-5320

Utah Population Database Director, Research and Science
Diana Lane Reed, CCRP, Masters Certificate in Gerontology
diana.lane@hci.utah.edu
801-581-7596

Governance

HCI Senior Director of Population Sciences
Tracy Onega, PhD, MS

Faculty Advisory Committee Chair
Jen Doherty, PhD, MS

Faculty Advisory Committee Members
Diana Brixner, PhD
Steven Guthery, MD
William Lowrance, MD, MPH
Barry Nangle, PhD
Andrew Post, MD, PhD
Erin Rothwell, PhD
Katharine Ullman, PhD
Michael Varner, MD