Organizational Structure

One of the key strengths of the NSI is to adopt an interdisciplinary approach and bring together research investigators and academic leaders from clinical, translational, and basic science departments. Based on this principle, our organizational structure has been setup to include representation from neuroscience-associated departments, schools, and colleges across the U.

Executive Committee

The primary focus of the Neuroscience Initiative Executive Committee is on the following key areas:

  1. Strategic Growth & Research Program Development
  2. Funds Flow & Sustainability
  3. Overall Impact

Scientific Steering Committee

The Neuroscience Scientific Steering Committee is primarily associated with the following roles:

  1. Faculty Recruitment - hiring, vetting & embedding of neuroscience recruits
  2. NSI Seed grant program portfolio
  3. Establishing focus groups and teams for targeting programmatic FOAs/RFAs

View our list of Executive Committee members and Scientific Steering Committee members.

Events Calendar

Upcoming Events

View Calendar


Deborah Yurgelun-Todd, PhD
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Director, Neuroscience Initiative

Contact Us
Neuroscience Initiative
383 Colorow, Room 307
Salt Lake City, UT 84108

Sean Flynn, PhD
Associate Director, Neuroscience Initiative
Email: sean.flynn@hsc.utah.edu