Skip to main content

Elizabeth Fuhriman Gardner Prize

Starting with the 2022-2023 academic year, the Elizabeth Fuhriman Gardner Prize is facilitated by and awarded to one or more dental students in the School of Dentistry.


Elizabeth (Libby) Fuhriman Gardner possessed a quiet inner strength and dignity, uncommon grace and graciousness, and an exceptional ability to deal with the demanding realities of life while retaining a firm sense of self and family. Her family life was one of devotion to and partnership with her husband, David, and four daughters. She brought a consistent commitment and a thoughtful, constructive influence to her public responsibilities. As First Lady of the University of Utah from 1973 to 1983, she became a strong advocate for and an effective ambassador of the University throughout Utah, the nation and the world. Expressing her belief and confidence in education, young people and, especially, women students, she contributed significantly to the advancement of the University and its mission. Libby was a health sciences graduate in the field of dental hygiene, graduating from the University of California at San Francisco in 1958. Through the 2021-2022 academic year, WiHMS facilitated the selection of up to two awardees from the health sciences areas—School of Dentistry, College of Health, School of Medicine, College of Nursing, College of Pharmacy).

Past Gardner Prize Recipients


Kennedy Springer (Nutrition and Dietetics)

Yuliya Petukhova (Dentistry)


Simranvir Kaur (Medicine)

Anjanette W. Walsh (Dentistry)

2018 Dallas Shi (Medicine)
2017 Corinna M. Trujillo (Nursing)
2016 Alexis Pearl Lee (Health)
2015 Allyson Armstrong (Health)

Maureen Henry (Nursing)

Meghan Cirulis (Medicine)

2013 Erin Johnson Cole (Nursing)
2012 Elise M. Mecham (Medicine)
2011 Melissa Brewster (Pharmacy)
2010 Shadi Ghaibi (Pharmacy)

Barbara Roper (Pharmacy)

Julie Valentine (Nursing)


Anisa Ramaileh (Pharmacy)

Nicole Wilde (Medicine)

2007 Tamara Pascoe (Medicine)
2006 Abril Atherton (Pharmacy)
2005 Alison Nicole Shiffern (Medicine)
2004 Cathyyen Dang (Pharmacy)
2003 Eugena Lie Paolin Baca (Nursing)
2002 Kristen Smith (Pharmacy)
2001 Kristine M. Tanner (Health)

Roxanne Van Beekum (Pharmacy)

Ivonne Zurita (Nursing)

1999 Rene C. Hunter (Medicine)
1998 Julie Kenney (Pharmacy)

Jennifer White Boyden (Medicine)

Karen Gunning (Pharmacy)


Jodi Brookins-Fisher (Health)

Kimberly Ann Townsend (Nursing)

1995 Celia Blackburn (Medicine)

Laura Davenport (Medicine)

Lindy Sue Gomez (Nursing)

1993 Michelle Moulton (Health)
1992 Sandra W. Bagley (Nursing)

Contact Us

Phone: 801-587-9917


University of Utah Health Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion
26 South 2000 East
5750B HSEB
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112

Upcoming Events