Current Lab Members

Tony Pomicter

Tony Pomicter

Laboratory Manager
tony.pomicter@hci.utah.edu

Publications

My NCBI CV

My LinkedIn Profile

  • MS, Virginia Commonwealth University, Neurobiology - 2008
  • BS, The Pennsylvania State University, Biology - 2002

District Staff Excellence Award 2014

I joined the Deininger lab in June of 2011 with the major goal of preparing this newly transplanted lab for future growth and success. This includes maintaining multiple mouse colonies, performing cell sorting, training personnel, adapting new techniques, and maintaining the day-to-day operations.

Chelsea Lesuma

Chelsea Lesuma

Executive Assistant
chelsea.lesuma@hci.utah.edu

Ami Patel, MD

Ami Patel, MD

Assistant Professor
ASH Research Training Award for Fellows
ami.patel@hci.utah.edu

  • MD, Northwestern University, Medicine - 2011
  • BS, Northwestern University, Biology - 2007

Publications

Dongqing Yan

Dongqing Yan

Research Associate
LLS Special Fellow
dongqing.yan@hci.utah.edu

  • PhD, SUNY Upstate Medical University, Pharmacology
  • MPS, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, Environmental and Forest Biology
  • MS, Northwest Sci-tech University of Agriculture and Forestry, Plant science
  • BS, Northwest Normal University, Biology

I joined the lab in July 2014 to study molecular pathways involved in chronic myelomonocytic leukemia, myelofibrosis, and acute myeloid leukemia. My major project focuses on exploring the enzyme SIRT5 as a potential drug target in acute myeloid leukemia.

Anca Franzini

Anca Franzini

Research Scientist
anca.franzini@hci.utah.edu

  • PhD, Carnegie Mellon University, Bioorganic Chemistry - 2006
  • MS & BS, University of Bucharest, Chemistry - 2000

Publications

Anna Senina

Anna Senina

Senior Laboratory Specialist
anna.senina@hci.utah.edu

  • MS, Moscow State Pedagogical University, Moscow, Russia, Biology - 1976

Publications

Phil Clair

Phil Clair

Senior Laboratory Specialist
phillip.clair@hci.utah.edu

  • MS, New Mexico State University, Biology - 1985
  • BS, Shepherd College, Biology - 1983

Publications

Congratulations Phil on 20 years at The U!

My major responsibility is to procure, process, store, and inventory blood and bone marrow samples from patients with leukemias and other hematologic malignancies. I also coordinate the acquisition and logistics of patient samples for collaborators, industry contracts, and clinical trial companion studies.

Orlando Antelope

Orlando Antelope

Laboratory Specialist
orlando.antelope@hci.utah.edu

  • BS, The University of Utah, Biology (Cell and Molecular Biology), Minor in Chemistry - 2014
Jon Ahmann

Jon Ahmann

Laboratory Technician
jonathan.ahmann@hci.utah.edu

  • BS, University of Arizona, Molecular & Cellular Biology, Minor in Biochemistry - 2016
Larry Beaver

Larry Beaver

Laboratory Technician
larry.beaver@hci.utah.edu

  • BS, Miami University, Zoology - 2013
Alex Van Scoyk

Alex Van Scoyk

Ph.D. Student
alexandria.vanscoyk@hci.utah.edu

  • BS, Oregon State University, Chemistry, Minor in Toxicology - 2015

Publications

Brayden Halverson

Brayden Halverson

Laboratory Aide
brayden.halverson@hci.utah.edu

  • BS, The University of Utah, Chemistry with emphasis in Biology - 2018
  • AS, Salt Lake Community College, General Studies - 2013 (concurrent with high school diploma)

Publications

Principle Investigator

Michael W. Deininger, MD, PhD
Principal Investigator
Email

Cancer Center Bio
Principle Investigator

Thomas O’Hare, PhD
Principal Investigator
Email

Cancer Center Bio